News Hounds by Laura James – Book Review

News Hounds by Laura James – Book Review

News Hounds by Laura James

News Hounds
The Puppy Problem

Author – Laura James
Illustrator – Charlie Alder
Publisher – Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Pages – 128
Released – 6th May 2021
ISBN-13 – 978-1526620545
Format – ebook, paperback
Rating – 5 Stars
I received a free copy of this book.
This post contains affiliate links.
add to goodreads

Synopsis

Gizmo is a city dog, so when he moves to the village of Puddle with his journalist human he doesn’t know WHAT to expect. Certainly not FLOWERS. Or BEES. And he couldn’t have even imagined MUD. Luckily he’s got Jilly, the wolfhound next door, to show him around. But Jilly has a problem. Her puppies are going to be given to new owners far away. She’ll never see them again! Gizmo might not know the difference between a cow and a tractor but he’s got a nose for a story, and a great idea to help Jilly. What if the dogs of Puddle had a newspaper? STOP PRESS!

A charming and hilarious new illustrated young fiction series about the things dogs get up to when their humans aren’t looking, from the author of The Adventures of Pug series. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat and The Secret Life of Pets.

Review by Stacey

Gizmo the Dachshund lived with his owner in the city until she decided to move to a small country village called Puddle, taking Gizmo with her. Gizmo wasn’t used to country life and was shocked to meet his new neighbour, a huge dog called Jilly. Jilly was an Irish Wolfhound and she had four puppies.

Jilly learns that her owners are going to sell the puppies but she doesn’t want them to leave the village, so Gizmo comes up with a plan. He writes a newspaper article for the dogs of the village and gets them to bring their owners to Jilly’s house where hopefully some will love the puppies so much they will want to keep them.

What an amazing start to what I can already tell is going to be a fun and exciting new series from author Laura James. Gizmo is so adorable, I mean who doesn’t love a Sausage Dog, he is very clever too, especially with his owner being a newspaper editor.

The idea that a group of dogs from a village can wander around freely, chat with one another, and come up with plans to write newspapers for all the local dogs to read is certainly imaginative and I can see children being amazed and in love with the idea.

This is a beautiful book that will keep children entertained and engrossed in the story. It has been highly illustrated with wonderful images that bring the dogs and their antics to life. I now can’t wait for more books in the series to be released.

Purchase Online From:

Author Info

Laura James’s love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies at the University of Kent and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. Laura’s debut novel Captain Pug, part of her Adventures of Pug series, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2017. She also writes about Fabio: The World’s Greatest Flamingo Detective and some dogs who start a newspaper in News Hounds. Laura’s books are published by Bloomsbury and sell around the world. She lives in Dorset with her two wire-haired dachshunds, Brian and Florence.

Twitter new 2021

Facebook new 2021

Instagram 2021

Goodreads 2021

Website 2021


What did you think of ‘News Hounds’? Share your thoughts in the comment section below!


The above links are affiliate links. I receive a very small percentage from each item you purchase via these link, which is at no extra cost to you. If you are thinking about purchasing the book, please think about using one of the links. All money received goes back into the blog and helps to keep it running. Thank you.

Like us on Facebook – Tweet us on Twitter – Pin us on Pinterest – Join us on Instagram

You may also like...

8 Responses

  1. This looks so cute, I’ve never had a dog, my parents were weird and germaphobes.

  2. This series has some serious kid appeal. Thanks for sharing!

  3. This sounds adorable!! We are a dog family so this would be perfect for my kids 🙂

  4. Robin Loves Reading says:

    Aaawww, this book sounds utterly adorable to me. Lovely review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.