Circle by Mac Barnett – Book Review

Circle by Mac Barnett – Book Review

Circle by Mac Barnett


Author – Mac Barnett
Illustrator – Jon Klassen
Publisher – Walker Books
Pages – 48
Released – 7th March 2019
ISBN-13 – 978-1406384222
Format – ebook, hardcover
Reviewer – Stacey
Rating – 4 Stars
I received a free copy of this book.
This post contains affiliate links.


From the dynamic, dream team of Jon Klassen and Mac Barnett comes the final instalment in the hilarious shape trilogy.

Triangle and Square are visiting Circle, who lives at the waterfall. When they play hide-and-seek, Circle tells the friends the one rule: not to go behind the falling water. But after she closes her eyes to count to ten, of course that’s exactly where Triangle goes. Will Circle find Triangle? And what OTHER shapes might be lurking back there?

Review new 2021

Circle is the third book in the children’s shapes trilogy by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen. The first two books in the series were Triangle and Square.

One day friends Triangle and Square visited Circle. The three decided to play a game. Circle said she would close her eyes and the other two were to hide. They were allowed to hide anywhere except for behind Circle’s waterfall.

Circle closed her eyes and when she opened them Square was standing in front of her. He pointed at the waterfall and said Triangle had hidden behind it. Circle was a little annoyed and went to find Triangle.

In the dark cave behind the waterfall though it would seem that Triangle and Circle weren’t alone. Who or what could be waiting for them in the dark?

The Shapes Trilogy of books have all been fun to read. They are a little unusual and the illustrations are a bit dark and not much happening but this is what makes the books stand out from the crowd.

The story is interesting and different, I can see kids trying to guess who is hidden in the dark. It’s just a shame that the series is only a trilogy as I would have loved to read about many other shapes and their adventures.

Reviewed by Stacey

Purchase online from:

About the Author

Mac Barnett

Mac is a New York Times bestselling author of more than 24 books for children, including two Caldecott-Honor-winning collaborations with Jon Klassen: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole, which also won the E.B White Read-Aloud Award, and Extra Yarn, which won both the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award.

His picture books Leo: A Ghost Story and The Skunk, illustrated by Patrick McDonnell, were named two of the Ten Best Illustrated Books of 2015 by The New York Times. Mac writes the Brixton Brothers series of mystery novels and, with Jory John, The Terrible Two series. He lives in Berkeley.



Website blue

The above links are affiliate links. I receive a very small percentage from each item you purchase via these link, which is at no extra cost to you. If you are thinking about purchasing the book, please think about using one of the links. All money received goes back into the blog and helps to keep it running. Thank you.

You may also like...